The Mighty Turducken

Happy 2010 everyone! I purposefully refrained from doing any “2009 year in review” type posts, so I thought I’d post something fun to make up for it. Yes, it’s a little self-serving (look what I did!), but it’s also by request. So without further ado, I’d like to take you on a little photo journey of one of my family’s holiday traditions: The Mighty Turducken.

Ah, the mighty Turducken. What a fine beast. The boning of all three birds is complete and it's ready to be stitched up. From top to bottom: wild rice stuffing, chicken, andouille sausage stuffing, duck, cornbread stuffing, turkey.

And sew it begins! Get it? "sew"? My stepdad and I regulating this bird. Doesn't their new kitchen look great?

It's really a two person job. One has to pull the darn thing together like the jaws of death, the other gets to stitch up the corpse with twine. I got to stitch. I felt like Dr. Frankenstein.

Almost done...

All stitched up and ready for the oven. It looks like it's about ready to pounce!

Up close on the stitching. Tasty eh?

A roast beast Dr. Seuss would be proud of. It took 17 hours in the oven to cook it all the way through.

Besides the two turkey legs and wings, it's entirely boneless. Case in point, we sliced right through the middle. This bad boy was 41 lbs of pure food.

Aaaaaand my plate. Can you blame me for going back for thirds?

And right about then is when I passed out on the couch. I hope you enjoyed the gastronomical journey as much as I enjoyed eating it!

Happy 2010!

Explore posts in the same categories: food

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “The Mighty Turducken”

  1. wins Says:

    Lady GaGa is right, “That boy is a monster!”

  2. Maritess Says:

    OMG that looks SO delicious Dan!! Hope you had a good holiday and New Year!

  3. Jamie Says:

    WOW! That’s HUGE. Did you know it was going to take 17 hours to cook?? That’s intense. But looks o-so-good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. danwalsh Says:

    Jamie,

    No, we thought it was only going to take 12, but it’s gotta hit an internal temperature of 140, I believe. Otherwise it’s like A Christmas Story “You’ll get worms!”

    It gets bigger every year. We’re thinking about adding an ostrich or something next time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Chip Says:

    OMG… I’m going to your mom’s house next year!


Leave a Reply

