Identities – Preliminary Acrylic on Wood

This is a close-up of a piece from a series I’m currently working on entitled “Identities”.

I made wooden “canvases” a few weeks ago with my buddy Lee. They were cheap, about $6 a piece for 32″ x 24″, and have since given me something new to experiment with. A lot of people paint on wood, but this was my first experience with wood as a canvas. I began to realize how beautiful the grain was and really wanted the identity of the wood to show throw.

I started thinking about how I could accomplish this, and what kind of artistic opportunities were open to me now that I was working with a rigid structure. It dawned on me that I could probably paint something in acrylic, and actually sand it down. My hunch was right.

I painted thick, let it dry, and then applied a few consecutive coats of watered down blacks and browns. The wash settled into the valleys formed by the paint, as well as the small cracks in the wood, which helped to accent the grain.

There are still a few more steps I want to take with this piece, and the series as a whole, but here is another close-up, this time of the center, and the piece as a whole, after sanding.

What do you think?

Hope to see you on Twitter!

Explore posts in the same categories: Art

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Identities – Preliminary Acrylic on Wood”

  1. magali Says:

    Very interesting technique, maybe you can use acid, not sure of the name but heard it’s used in painting techniques

  2. Andrea Says:

    I really like the piece. Wood is one of my favourite things! I’ve been stripping vintage furniture of nasty brown and beige paint for the last few months. Maybe a paint treatment similar to your work would look good on the drawer fronts…Hmmm…
    No I haven’t read the the book yet. I have an issue with buying new ;), and my library doesn’t have it. It seems as though it would be worth reading though. Better than Stephen King, the things happening in this world scare the hell out of me!
    Hope you are having fun down there!
    Andrea


Leave a Reply

