Recoleta Cemetery, Shirt One – Giveaway

Buenos Aires has an incredible cemetery in the Recoleta barrio. It’s easily one of the top tourist attractions in the city, and for good reason. The place is both peaceful and eery at the same time. Ornately carved statues number in the thousands and cats roam freely within the cemetery walls, brushing against visitor’s legs as they get lost amongst the tombs and side streets.

I easily spent 5 or 6 hours taking pictures – and getting sunburned – at the cemetery. There was too much inspiration for one shirt, so I’ll be creating a series. This shirt is the first in that series, and to celebrate I’ve decided to give one away!

Show me some love por favore. Click the pic and rate the shirt 5 stars.

How to Win:

You must answer the following 3 questions in a comment below to qualify for the free shirt. I will be judging mostly on originality, and I’m only giving away one shirt, so make your comment count.

1) Where is your favorite place to buy T-Shirts online (provide a link).

2) This shirt was blue and grey, what colors should the next shirt be?

3) What is the best pick up line  you’ve ever heard?

Good luck!

Follow me on Twitter! http://twitter.com/dpwalsh

Explore posts in the same categories: Art, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “Recoleta Cemetery, Shirt One – Giveaway”


  1. 1. http://www.threadless.com/

    2. Pink & yellow

    3. Did you fart? Because you blew me away. 🙂


  2. 1) thinkgeek.com
    2) Something in drab maybe?. My wardrobe is full of white or black background T-shirts. It is a shame since there are lots of options. Navy blue, drab or sand t-shirts would rock and mix great with jeans and cargos ;).
    3) “From my table you looked just like someone I know, and from here (standing in front) you totally look like someone I should know” 😉 Oldie, but works like a charm.

    BTW ya still in BA?

    Cheers!

  3. Tina Says:

    Hi,

    thought I’d give this a try even though my track record for winning stuff is pathetic 🙂

    1) Where is your favorite place to buy T-Shirts online (provide a link).
    I’ve only bought t-shirts online from two places, the place I liked the most was: http://www.threadless.com/
    Last one I bought was a “Sad Psycho” t-shirt for pretty long ago.
    I liked it though and I did get some questioning looks wearing it 🙂
    EDIT: Found a link to it here: http://www.threadless.com/product/162/Sad_Psycho#zoom

    2) This shirt was blue and grey, what colors should the next shirt be?
    I would definitively vote for the text in red and the print in dark green.

    3) What is the best pick up line you’ve ever heard?
    Ugh… Well, I think the best one was just recently when I was at a coffee shop in the Mission district here in San Francisco and working on my little netbook (I couldn’t afford and actual laptop lol) and this guy came up to me and asked me: “Can I borrow your laptop to send an email to my trust fund caretaker?”

    I made him buy me a coffee.

    🙂

    /Tina, Outer Sunset, San Francisco

  4. JoSe Says:

    1) Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com
    2) Red and black, my beloved soccer team´s colours !
    3) Hi, I am the future father of your children, wanna get laid ?

  5. Derek Says:

    1. shirt.woot.com
    2. maroon and tan
    3. “So, you know those crop circles in England? I make those.”

  6. Lisa Anne Says:

    1. I have 2. Shirt.Woot.Com because they are awesome and cheap. Also, neighborhoodies.com because I think they are a great company to support and you can make your own junk.

    2. yellow and green

    3. Is your daddy a meat burgler? The reason I ask is because…

  7. Joey "Joe Joe Shabadu Jr." Riener Says:

    First! JK. My favorite place to buy shirts online is easily http://www.shirt.woot.com a website that allows you to vote on 4 of the shirts coming out for that week and provides user submitted designs printed on American Apparel t-shirts for $10 shipped…awesome. I would like to see an old throwback to the 80s with some neon colors(green, yellow, blue. lime, neon and electric respectively.) The best pickup line i have ever heard would have to be…well 2…i hope i don’t get disqualified for this. My friend Pat always used this one and i always that it was funny/cheesy enough to work. “How much does a polar bear weigh? Enough to break the ice.” And the funniest ever ever heard is ” Want to come over and ultimately leave disappointed?”

  8. Andrew T Says:

    1. http://store.cottonfactory.com/ Recently found and their shirts make me laugh.
    2. Navy blue and orange, amazing colors.
    3. “Do you have a Bandaid? Because I just scraped my knee falling for you.” Going to use it soon.

    -AT-


  9. 1. The best place for shirts has to be shirt.woot.com Not only is there a new design, every day, but it only costs 10 bucks a shirt, with no shipping. Cant beat that. They take care of their guest artists too, rewarding like 1000 for a featured design. Cant beat that either.

    2. Good colors for the shirt. Keep up the earthy tones and go for a Green / Brown mixture next time, the shirt looks great, and earth tones make for some of the best shirts. People are so busy trying to make everything flashy and catchy, the best shirts are the ones you have to walk up and say, wow that is a great shirt, where is it from? The kind it takes a moment to get, cause then you’ve totally caught their attention… unless of course the shirt is not worth really understanding, then you feel cheated for wasting your time. hah

    3.The best pickup line ever has to be:
    ‘Hey, my buddy and I were just arguing about the weight of a polar bear. Do you know the how much one of them weighs, full grown’?
    ‘Ummm… no.’
    ‘Oh, well I am definitely sure they weigh enough to break the ice, Hi. Im Dan.’

    Cheers!


  10. 1. It’s gotta be http://www.shirt.woot.com. Thanks to Joey “Joe Joe Shabadu Jr.” Riener I am semi addicted to that site now.

    2. I think we need a blue shirt with bright pink and bright green graphic. Yeah, that sounds like a shirt i would buy.

    3. I dont know if this is the best pick up line ever, but it worked and I dated her for three months after…
    Ok, back story: She was a comedian and she was performing that night. Throughout the entire skit, she was talking about Starbucks and how she hated working there but she loved the coffee and discounts. So after the show, she was by the bar surrounded by a few guys (three I think) and I thought, well now is better than never. I walked between the guys and said to her:

    “I love coffee and you’re pretty hot. Let’s go on a date.”

    Needless to say, she was impressed and we went on a date that next weekend. Shortly after, we started dating. I had a lot of free Starbucks coffee for those three months that I was with her.

  11. italianwinelover Says:

    1. Favorite place to buy…pleasedressme.com

    2. How about a dark green and mustard – like that earthy combo!!

    3. I once had a 50 something man ask me to come back to his apartment to see his etchings after he found out I was a graphic artist? I was about 22 at the time.


  12. 1. Threadless
    2. Green, with a touch of yellow.
    3. Hi. I’m … I’d like to meet you.

  13. sdmolof Says:

    1) http://www.patagonia.com/web/us/search/esearch.jsp?OPTION=ESEARCH&N=0&special=both&Ntt=t+shirt&slc=en_US&sct=US&src=pkw

    2) dark lime green shirt, black angel statues, teal tree line, and silver tombstones

    3) So, you’re a girl huh?

  14. Riley Says:

    1) My favorite place to buy tee shirts is PleaseDress.me. I love their randomizer feature–it makes me go out of my normal tee shirt box.

    2) I think the next shirt should be orange and yellow. In this though economy, it doesn’t hurt to be positive.

    3) The best pickup line I’ve ever heard may be “Are you Ubuntu? Because I think we’re compatible” lol.

    ~Riley


  15. 1) Threadless. What can I say, I’m a sucker for the place!
    2) Next shirt should clearly be beige and blue-gray. Or tan and forest green. Something earth-toney
    3) Best pickup line: “You remind me of the banking industry in a recession, because you make me want to give you a stimulus package.”

  16. Micah Says:

    1) Busted tees http://www.BustedTees.com
    2) Same color of blue and bugandy
    3) Is there a mirror in your pocket? cuz I can see myself in your pants!

    -Micah

  17. Annisk Says:

    1.splitreason.com
    2.invible or green-glow in the dark t-shirt
    3.i’ve been kidnapped by an alien! believe me it’s true…

  18. Chris Says:

    1. Far Out Shirts http://faroutshirts.com
    2. two reds and two grays
    3. “Okay, so I came over here to ask you to dance, but I’m kind of concerned. I mean, we could hit it off really well, end up having a few drinks, next thing you know you’re giving me your number because I’m too shy to ask for it, I finally get up the nerve to call and we take in a movie, have some dinner, I relax, you relax, we go out a few more times, get to know each other’s friends, spend a lot of time together, then finally get past this sexual tension and really develop this intense sex life that is truly incredible, decide our relationship is solid and stable, so we move in together for a while, then a few months later get married, I get a promotion, you get a promotion, we buy a bigger house. You really want kids, but I really want freedom, but we have a kid anyway, only to find that I am resentful, the sparks start to fade and to rekindle them we have two more lovely kids, but now I work too much to keep up with the bills, have no time for you, you’re stressed and stop taking really good care of yourself, so to get past our slow sex life and my declining self-confidence I turn to an outside affair for sexual gratification. You find out because I’m careless and a lousy liar, you throw me out (justifiably so) and we have to explain to the kids why mommy and daddy are splitting up. That’s just too sad. Think about the children. For God’s sake, if you dance with me and we hit it off, let’s just keep it sexual, because we both know where it’s going.”

  19. Raven Says:

    1. http://www.teefury.com One new super limited-edition tee every 24 hours for $9.

    2. Gunmetal Gray with Black, White, and Maroon

    3. There is something wrong with my phone. Could you call it for me to see if it rings?

  20. KTG Says:

    1. I would like a shirt from tide.com and get that cool yellow tide t-shirt! I think the proceeds go somewhere good.

    2. Hmmm, your next shirt colors should purple and neon green, like the old jump rope for heart t-shirts

    3. best pick up line…..i think i lost my phone, is it in the backseat of your car?


Leave a Reply

