Hail to the Chief – Soon, You Too can be President!

This past election really frustrated me. The constant touting of how it was the most important election in American history, coupled with the media circus surrounding Palin (and the transparent reasons for her nomination), and the multitude of half-truths both parties expected us to accept made me realize that I’ve been missing out on a ton of fun by not running for office.

I want in on the action!

As a way to bring all the fun of mudslinging, campaign finance, and pork belly spending to the public, I’ve begun devising a new board game I’m currently calling Hail to the Chief.

Throughout the game, players will travel around the board voting on bills, earning money for campaigning in states, and trying to avoid other player’s under-handed tactics. The first player to get enough electoral votes to become President wins.

What really excites me about the game are the voting cards. If they want to win, players will have to vote on bills in a manner that will help get them elected, and not necessarily in accordance to their personal beliefs. For example, I have a buddy who loves competitive sport shooting. If a vote card is drawn which proposes tightening up gun control restrictions, he may have to vote in favor of it in order to further his political career, even though it’s grossly out of sync with his own personal agenda. I’m hoping this feature will cause a lot of name calling and finger pointing, as well as give the players a little taste of what it’s like to be a politician.

This is a picture of the first prototype board I’ve put together. It also shows off my favorite square: “filibuster, lose a turn”. I’m also thinking about adding one that says “Religious Holiday. Take a vacation even though the country is going to hell.” That’s a little long though, so we’ll see if I can fit it on a square.

While I was putting this together, I started wondering whatever happened to those kids who said they wanted to be President when they grew up. Do kids still say that? Was that a fad? Like being a cowboy or an astronaut? I don’t know for sure, but I have a hunch it has something to do with the boring way American children are taught about how our country is run. That is, if schools haven’t already cut all their Poli-Sci classes along with Art and Music.

After I finish development of the game, I’m going to push for a G-Rated, educational version that I hope will be implemented in schools, hopefully getting kids excited about their country again.

Any suggestions on fun issues players should get to vote on?

-Dan-

Follow me on Twitter! http://twitter.com/dpwalsh

Explore posts in the same categories: Innovation

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Hail to the Chief – Soon, You Too can be President!”

  1. oo12oo Says:

    What an excellent idea, Dan! Press on and all the best with your endeavors.

    http://ontheseventhday.wordpress.com/

  2. Tim Says:

    How about drinking age and marijuana, that could cause some fun arguments between friends 🙂

  3. Izzie Says:

    You sarcastic sonofabitch. you’re hilarious.
    I support you 100% in your board-game creation.


  4. […] I love this!  Dan Walsh aka Vagabond, has created a game that allows you to run the United States of America.  The board game is detailed in his blog post Hail to the Chief – Soon You Too Can Be President. […]


Leave a Reply

