My Fight Against Prop 8

I, like many Californians, and even many Americans, were disgusted by the passage of Proposition 8. I think pretty much everyone knows what Prop 8 is at this point, but just in case: Prop 8 “eliminates [the] right of same-sex couples to marry”. It amends the California State Constitution, and was a close-minded and hurtful passage. The subject has been written about at length elsewhere on the net – just Google it – so I won’t get into all the details here. Suffice it to say, I am ashamed to have EVER been Mormon, as they contributed a substantial amount of funding to the “Yes on 8” campaign.

Yes, the measure passed, “the people have spoken,” but only by a tiny margin. Petitions are being signed left and right to reopen the issue. We need as much support as we can get to abolish this hateful law.

I can’t march into Schwarzenegger’s office and demand it be changed. Not only would that not work and get me arrested at the same time, but it would be detrimental to the movement. So, I did my part by creating a t-shirt to show my support.

Click to Show Your Support

Click the Image to Get One for Yourself

Other Ways You Can Help

Sign up for the Facebook group.

Sign the petition.

Download this stencil and go to town.

If you know of a stencil company that can do one-offs similarly to how Zazzle is set up for tshirts etc., let me know and I’ll upload the files to make it easier on everyone.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter! http://twitter.com/dpwalsh

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

