How to Roast a Pumpkin

Little Pumpkin, you will soon be delicious.

Little Pumpkin, you will soon be delicious.

Fall is my favorite time of the year. While the lack of seasons in San Francisco steals much of the autumn’s joy (crisp mornings, falling leaves, raking…scratch the last one), I can still get into the spirit with seasonal ingredients. And what better ingredient exemplifies October/November than PUMPKIN? It’s not quite time yet for pumpkin pie, so I thought I’d make some pumpkin ravioli, until I realized I’ve always wanted to try making gnocchi. I found a few recipes on the interwebs, but haven’t really found one yet that I like. They all came out kind of mushy, and the mild, butter sage sauce every recipe recommended meant I had to cover my plate with parmesean in order to get a dish with any kind of flavor might. I’m currently working on a recipe that actually has some flavor, encompasses the season, is healthier(butter sauce?), and doesn’t get mushy. Until then, I guess I can tell you HOW TO ROAST A PUMPKIN.

Pumpkin recipes abound on the web, I discovered most call for a can of pumpkin puree. What I also found out, is that almost all “pumpkin puree” is actually made from a butternut squash, not pumpkin. Unacceptable in my book, so here’s how you can make pumpkin puree by roasting a pumpkin.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Halve a pumpkin with a knife, hatchet, or lightsaber. Whatever you have handy.
  3. Use a spoon to scrape out all the seeds and stringy stuff. (Save seeds to roast and eat!)
  4. Rinse each half under warm water.
  5. Coat the inside of the pumpkins with a bit of olive oil. I use my hands.
  6. Place halves on a tin foil covered baking sheet, cut side down.
  7. Loosely cover the tops of pumpkins with tin foil (to keep in moisture).

Bake for about 15 minutes a lb. Mine were around 6lbs and they were good and done after about 1.5 hours. Let them cool for a bit after you take them out of the oven, then scoop out the meet with a spoon. You can mush it up by hand, or use a food processor to puree to your heart’s content. My 6 pounders yielded about 4 cups of pumpkin, which is just about 2 cans of puree.

(Good) Pumpkin Gnocchi recipe coming soon!

Question of the post: what should I use pumpkin in next? Soup? Bread? Cookies? Soufle’?

-Dan-

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter! http://twitter.com/dpwalsh

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “How to Roast a Pumpkin”

  1. maggie Says:

    i’m adding pumpkin to my market list right now.

    hmm, they all sound good but i’m voting for soup.

  2. Al_Pal Says:

    Sounds great! I found some pumpkin recipes recently, they recommended putting your fresh pumpkin puree in cheesecloth and letting it hang for awhile to get the excess liquid out. ;D


Leave a Reply

