Sparks, Kindling, and Explosives…

I’ve started a lot of fires in my day… metaphorically and otherwise.

When I was younger, and less experienced, as soon as I had a flame going I’d douse it with lighter fluid, gasoline, or alcohol, instantly turning the flame into an inferno. Oh boy would it rage, and the gleam in my eye could light up the night… But then a funny thing would happen.

The fire would die.

I suffocated it. The wood hadn’t even caught yet, but I had used up all the oxygen. The fire only burned on the surface. It was fake. Sure, it chased off the cold while it lasted, but quickly accelerated is quickly depleted.

If you want warmth to last you through the night, there is no subsititute for a slow, steady burn.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

